ITIL V4 Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management

Course Description

The ITIL 4 Foundation qualification is intended to introduce candidates to the management of modern IT-enabled services, to provide them with an understanding of the common language and key concepts, and to show them how they can improve their work and the work of their organization with ITIL 4 guidance. Furthermore, the qualification will provide the candidate with an understanding of the ITIL 4 service management framework and how it has evolved to adopt modern technologies and ways of working. The ITIL 4 Foundation examination is intended to assess whether the candidate can demonstrate sufficient recall and understanding of the ITIL 4 service management framework, as described below, to be awarded the ITIL 4 Foundation qualification. The ITIL 4 Foundation qualification is a prerequisite for the ITIL 4 higher level qualifications, which assess the candidate’s ability to apply their understanding of the relevant parts of the ITIL framework in context. This ITIL course is offered by SureSkills, an Affiliate of AXELOS Limited. ITIL is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.
3 Days


Contact us for available delivery options.

Who Should Attend

There are no specific pre-requisites for this course. It is aimed at anyone working in IT with an interest in Service Management. It is equally applicable to those who wish to apply ITIL Best Practice; principles across an enterprise. It is specifically aimed at those who have not previously attended an ITIL Foundation course - although if you attended Foundation level training many years ago this course provides an excellent refresher.

Understand the key concepts of service management

Recall the definition of:
a) Service
b) Utility
c) Warranty
d) Customer
e) User
f) Service management
g) Sponsor

Describe the key concepts of creating value with services:
a) Cost
b) Value
c) Organization
d) Outcome
e) Output
f) Risk
g) Utility
h) Warranty

Describe the key concepts of service relationships:
a) Service offering
b) Service relationship management
c) Service provision
d) Service consumption

Understand how the ITIL guiding principles can help an organization adopt and adapt service management

Describe the nature, use and interaction of the guiding principles.

Explain the use of the guiding principles:
a) Focus on value
b) Start where you are
c) Progress iteratively with feedback
d) Collaborate and promote visibility
e) Think and work holistically
f) Keep it simple and practical
g) Optimize and automate

Understand the four dimensions of service management

Describe the four dimensions of service management:

a) Organizations and people
b) Information and technology
c) Partners and suppliers
d) Value streams and processes

Understand the purpose and components of the ITIL service value system

Describe the ITIL service value system.

Understand the activities of the service value chain, and how they interconnect

Describe the interconnected nature of the service value chain and how this supports value streams.

Describe the purpose of each value chain activity:
a) Plan
b) Improve
c) Engage
d) Design & transition
e) Obtain/build
f) Deliver & support

Know the purpose and key terms of 15 ITIL practices

Recall the purpose of the following ITIL practices:

a) Information security management
b) Relationship management
c) Supplier management
d) IT asset management
e) Monitoring and event management
f) Release management
g) Service configuration management
h) Deployment management
i) Continual improvement
j) Change control
k) Incident management
l) Problem management
m) Service request management
n) Service desk
o) Service level management

6.2 Recall definitions of the following ITIL terms:
a) IT asset
b) Event
c) Configuration item
d) Change
e) Incident
f) Problem
g) Known error

Understand 7 ITIL practices

Explain the following ITIL practices in detail, excluding how they fit within the service value chain:

a) Continual improvement including: The continual improvement model
b) Change control
c) Incident management
d) Problem management
e) Service request management
f) Service desk
g) Service level management

ITIL FoundationITIL Service ManagementITSMITSMITIL Foundation V4ITIL V4ITILITIL 4